Naughty Glysophates!

One of the reasons I’m keen on the ‘no dig’ method I mentioned earlier is that the other option which is frequently espoused by the other plot holders is to just kill everything off with strong weedkiller. Which invariably they suggest as ‘Round Up’, as manufactured by Monsanto, who also developed Agent Orange..

The main ingredient of Round Up is the chemical Glysophate, which “The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) – WHO’s cancer agency – said – was “classified as probably carcinogenic to humans”.

a and it also said “there was “limited evidence” that glyphosate was carcinogenic in humans for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.”

So I think I’d rather just pull out my weeds (admittedly more time consuming) and let them dry out before using as a compost to grow more yummy vegetables

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/mar/21/roundup-cancer-who-glyphosate-

Leave a comment